WWI

I’m off on another reporting trip this weekend for my series on how wars end. This time I’m delving into why WWI ended when it did and what sort of peace followed.  I’ll be talking to historians in the UK,  touring battlefields in Belgium and visiting the Hall of Mirrors where the Treaty of Versailles was signed in 1919.  The challenge with any radio piece is focus.  I need to figure out which parts of a large and complicated story to tell.  If you have thoughts on what’s most important about the way WWI ended, do post a comment. I’ll let you know how I get on.  My current reading:

Hew Strachan The First World War

Margaret MacMillan Paris 1919

Zara Steiner The Lights that Failed

5 responses to “WWI

  1. As your trips add up, I’d love to hear what the taste of visiting Bosnia and then quickly after to the hall of mirrors is doing in your head. Just a thought.

  2. What about looking at WWI from the side of the nations that lost the war? Germany, Hungary, Austria, Turkey.

    FWIW, in my “History of War” undergrad class many years ago, we looked at WWI and WWII as one extended war with a failed treaty in the middle. Food for thought.

  3. Pingback: Bookmarks about Wwi

  4. Take some pictures too and post them on your blog. I have always wanted to see the hall of mirrors from the perspective of a traveling person. Like your site. Keep up the good work.
    http://greathistoricalmoments.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/hello-world/

Leave a Reply

